top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Gardiner

The Gallivanting Gardiners

It's 20:14pm and I'm not tired so thought I might as well write a blog post. I've been wanting to document our move from SA to Ireland and have done so to an extent, but thought it would be good to keen this blog as a digital journal.


So here it goes!


My husband Cheslyn and I are a young (and fun!) couple from Cape Town, South Africa currently living in Dublin, Ireland. How did we get here? Well let me tell you!


Firstly, we were not planning on leaving SA when the opportunity came our way. Despite the load shedding and increasing cost of living, we were very content with the life we were building in Cape Town. But, as we believe, God had other plans.


Shortly after Cheslyn had completed his part-time masters degree, he got a message on Linked In from a recruiter in Ireland asking if he was interested in moving there. As we had nothing to loose, he went ahead with the process . Fast forward one month and two interviews later, he had received two job offers. After much prayer and contemplation, he decided to accept the offer. We booked our flights to Dublin in January, and had exactly 7 weeks to get everything in order before moving.


One thing to note about me is I am an over thinker. This has, of course, let to me also getting stressed very quickly. However, I never once felt stressed throughout the process of this move. I had so much peace about it, which only solidified that I knew that Ireland was where God wanted Ches and I to go.


And now, 3 months later, we can happily say that living in Ireland has been blissful. While I am not the biggest fan of the weather (this country experiences all four seasons in one day, its super annoying), Ireland is beautiful and the people are lovely. I never had the desire to live in Europe, but now that I'm here, I am very very grateful.


I guess the Gen Z thing would be to create content around our move - a couple of Instagram reels (not TikTok's, I cannot stand that app...Vines was way better) and maybe even a YouTube video - but we'll see.


For now this will have to do.


But watch this space! The Gardiner's have exciting things planned - places to see, experiences to try - and we'll definitely want to capture and record these memories.


While the world is focused on what you do and what you know, His Spirit equips us with strength to learn as we go and trust that He will give us all the grace and knowledge we need to step with Spirit-led confidence into every unknown.
- Morgan Harper Nichols


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page